Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extend do you agree?

The amount of huge markets is increasing more and more these days, while hundreds of petite shops are considered to lose the competition in attracting customers. I reckon that there is no valuable reason for communities to disappear due to the fact that some local businesses might be closed, as a consequence, I completely disagree with this statement. On the one hand, I agree that there are some crucial factors, which definitely show that specific society depends on surrounding enterprises. Firstly, it is known that supermarkets usually have totally the same type of products, which could not be replaced by other options. Consequently, there might be a lack of goods needed by people, which would force unsatisfied individuals to change their living area. Secondly, a lot of young entrepreneurs would leave their hometowns in order to find an appropriate place to invest money and run their own businesses. For sure, this migration could bring about the death of some small cities. On the other hand, big stores still could bring a lot of benefits for people. Megamarkets are more likely to be cheaper and accessible, therefore it would encourage more citizens to visit them. Moreover, supermarkets are used to offer some sale options for their customers in order to attract more visitors. For instance, Morrisons is a prime example of a great market with a wonderful advertising system. Its “3 for 2” offer eventually encouraged hundreds of individuals to choose Morrisons among other alternatives. To conclude, despite varying opinions, I believe that the closure of private shops would not bring a negative impact on communities, consequently, there would be no reason for locals to immigrate elsewhere.