Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, social media has been gaining more and more popularity. A survey conducted in Indonesia in 2022 reveals that more than 70% of respondents have at least one social media account. Some people argue that the high use of social media may cause detrimental effects on both personal and society. I strongly agree with the statement, and in this essay I will explain why social networking may cause appalling impacts on our lives. To embark on, while it is true that social media like Facebook or Instagram has given us the opportunity to stay in contact with families and friends who live far away from us. These online tools have allowed us to share important news timely and effectively with others. However, studies show that high use of social media has actually weakened our personal relationships. For instance, whenever I visit restaurants or cafes, all I can see is a group of friends or families who do not talk to each other; instead, they are busy with their own gadgets. On top of that, increasing use of social media has caused mental issues such as anxiety and depression. People have always shared only the good things about their lives, such as an achievement or branded products. This, may lead other people who see these posts to become unsatisfied with their own, leading to depressed feelings. Social networking sites have also negatively impacted society. Society society has been exposed to violent content, harsh words, and other inappropriate content almost every time. This may cause people to hate each other and promote disregard for their surroundings. Indeed, society these days has become more individualistic. In conclusion, although people can benefit from online communication tools, the negative impact resulting from overuse of social media is huge including mental problems such as depression. We should use this social networking more wisely in the future.