Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. Tp what extent do you agree with this view?

Other individuals argue that the state is wasting its budget on the arts and must focus on other things. In my opinion, I believe that the government is not spending unproductively on the arts. I do not agree that the state is spending unproductively on the arts because in reality its fund is focused on globalisation, healthcare and education. The government has a minimum budget for the arts. To exemplify, writers in the country are not fully supported as most of them are working privately or in a freelance business. It means that the financial aid coming from the government may only be in sponsorships or marketing the writers internationally. It is the same as well with singers and dancers who are in the performing arts. There are only a few of them who are successful, and their success is not rooted in the money shared by the government. As a case in point, the funds allocated to the arts are almost not relevant for people to argue that it is wasted, as artists are maximising the country's minimal monetary contribution to their success and achievement of recognition internationally. In my opinion, the government must invest more in the arts. In a broader perspective, arts also encompasses architecture and engineering. To illustrate, an infrastructure cannot be fully developed without the basic elements of the arts such as shapes, angles, lines, and colours. It means that having better infrastructure with functional facilities will provide better access to healthcare and education, which can be a part of the country competing globally. In conclusion, the government is not wasting money on the arts. As a matter of fact, the government must expand its investment in the arts to deliver better services to meet the needs of its people in terms of health and education.