Some people think studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give our own opinion.

It is true that the question of whether to learn history or learn subjects remains a source of controversy in the education field. While a number of people opine that there would be nothing to gain from doing research on what happened in the past, I firmly believe that history does teach us precious lessons like other subjects. On the one hand, proponents of this viewpoint are that learning history may not be essential for children to learn. Rarely had we applied history to practical activities, and thus, we would rather pay attention to science or technology than focus on something that brings no relevant value to the present or future. More importantly, each historical event is interpreted differently based on the different facts and perspectives. So, there is no guarantee of the accuracy of the information obtained. If, in many cases, a historical document was falsified, it would cause tremendous damage to people's culture and religion. On the other hand, those who favour believing history plays an essential role in people's life argue that the past cause the present, which means what we are experiencing at the moment could already happen in the past. By studying and analyzing those historical events, not only could students have a profound insight into current affairs, but also they able to develop their patriotism and pride for their own country. Besides, the youth needs to understand how their ancestors have defended the nation against intruders to protect our sovereignty. To illustrate, the Vietnamese soldiers have fought courageously against the invasion of a huge amount of invaders from around the world like America, France and China. Also, their ancestors suffered from the attack of these countries and sacrificed their blood and deaths to obtain peace. Therefore, kids at school are provided with historical knowledge to receive a message about preserving their country. In contrast, if they are not educated with lessons related to history, they will disregard the importance of peaceful beauty. To summarize, there are valid arguments that exist in favour of omitting history from the school curriculum, whereas others are resistant to changing it. Personally, I strongly believe that acquiring knowledge about historical events seems to be of great value to me.