Task 2: The use of social media (e.g. Facebook and Twitter) is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the pace of modern life, together with the development of technology, there are many different ways that we can use to communicate with other people. Among these, we can not deny the convenience of social media like Facebook or Twitter, which help us to contact online instead of meeting offline. Although the benefits of this are varied, in my opinion, it is disadvantageous in certain aspects. On the one hand, it is undeniable that making a video call or chatting via Facebook is not only easy but also helpful for us to save time when we need to communicate. For example, Vietnamese students many years ago, when there was an announcement about the timetable of new classes, students had to go to school to receive notice, which was quite inconvenient due to long distances or busy schedules. However, these days, children can create a group chat on Facebook and send messages to others immediately without spending a lot of time or travelling long distances. Moreover, some white-collar officers, due to a moderate amount of budget, can have contact online with other partners from overseas without costing money on flights. On the other hand, the disadvantages of using social media to replace face-to-face contact are significant, especially for teenagers. Initially, compared to students who just only use Facebook or Twitter as their tools of communication, those who spend time going out and chatting with friends benefit more from social activities such as making more friends, relaxing after a hard time of study, taking part in many sport clubs and also developing their soft skills, which are very demanding for young people at the working environment nowadays. More importantly, adults who abuse Facebook can become quite reserved and easily meet internet fraud. In other words, taking a great deal of time just sticking our eyes on the computer’s screen or mobile phone to surf Facebook or Twitter can cause harm to our eyes and also demotivate our brain productivity. In conclusion, despite facilitating communication between people in a digitalized world, I believe social media such as Facebook or Twitter must be used in a moderate amount of time, if not, it can harm our daily lives.