Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivataion for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both thee view and give your opinion.

It is argued by some individuals that there should be permanent penalties for each kind of crime. In contrast, others believe that the motive and situations of criminal offenders should always be taken into consideration when imposing sentences. This essay will discuss both views, and I personally believe that a judge should consider about motive, situation, and condition of the perpetrators. On the one hand, fixed punishment can be used as a deterrent effect on society. This means that sentencing clear punishment, can be a strong signal to the community so that they clearly know what sentences individuals will get when they commit crimes. Moreover, it would also avoid confusion between a judge and a law professional when they provide the penalty in court. For example, drug users will be sentenced a rehabilitation for 6 months to 2 years, and a rapist will be sentenced to 5 to 7 years in jail. Therefore, an exact punishment will be beneficial for society in general so that they have a general knowledge about the punishments. On the other hand, by considering the motive and condition of offenders, it can avoid innocent defendants. This means that if they are not the main offender or not the real perpetrators where they are only accomplices or they are trapped by the real offender; it would be not fair for them. In addition, a judge should be taken into account the condition of offenders whether they have mental illnesses or not. For instance, people with schizophrenia experience hallucinations and delusions, and then in the situation they kill someone. A law officer should consider the condition when the offender is in an unconscious state. Therefore, a judge, a lawyer, and a prosecutor should be considered all the situations and motives before giving penalties. In conclusion, while fixed punishments are not appropriate for each type of crime, a judge should consider the circumstances and the drive of offenders.