In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The question of whether an increasing number of elderly people make disadvantages and produce problems for society is a topic of ongoing debate. While there are undeniable drawbacks to this phenomenon, I firmly believe that an ageing population can be more beneficial for society in various ways. First of all, an increasing number of old people takes plenty of advantages to the economy of society, which could reaccelerate the gross domestic production by spending more money on consumption and investment. It is not uncommon for the elderly to travel around the world or pursue the knowledge of buying stocks after retirement, improving the development of the economy certainly. Moreover, lowering criminal activity is another benefit of the ageing population. This is because the evidence shows that most criminals are young adults in society. Thus, an increase in the ageing population would decrease the percentage of offence rate in specific areas. By lowering criminal activity, the ageing population also contributes to greater political participation for the government, maintaining a secure community environment. The only disadvantage to an ageing population is the burden of excessive pensions. It is true that governing funding suffers unaffordable pressure by providing pensions for retired people. If the ageing population grows, It is possible for governments to reduce budgets for other public programs, or even experience deficits in the future. Therefore, governments should take advanced and proper predictions, and assign detailed plans or solutions to face this challenge. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages to an ageing population in society, I believe that the elderly can be highly beneficial to the public. Not only from the factor of economy but also from the factor of safety. They made plenty of contributions to develop our today's society, and we should assist them to live in a more enjoyable world.