Students should be primarily taught academic subjects so that they can pass exams, and practical skills such as cooking should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many contend that educators should solely focus on teaching academic subjects and ignore practical skills like cooking. In this essay, I would argue that sacrificing life skills such as cooking for the benefit of academic subjects is completely wrong since practical knowledge can be more useful for children as well as making them additional career paths. One reason for disagreement with focusing heavily on academic subjects in order to pass tests and leaving out teaching life hacks is that life skills are more beneficial for students ' future life. This is because knowing these skills can help learners seek independence from others and become self-governing individuals whilst academic facts and figures are merely applicable to academic and career purposes. For instance, in the United States secondary school children are often encouraged to participate in a camping trip being held annually since their curriculum put value on practical skills in students ' development rather than concentrating on mathematics or physics. By contrast, academic materials can be fruitful for their future career for being engineers or doctors, yet not assist them in their way of life. Moreover, learning life skills in parallel to academic subjects can give students further job opportunities. Providing that scholars were not to succeed at the intellectual level, these life hacks could give them various chances to set up businesses based on their skills. Take cooking for example, in case a student wasn't able to get an academic position or get recruited based on their major, assuming that they gained the primary cooking knowledge at school, they could establish a restaurant or set up a business in this field. Hence, these practical hacks can provide students with further job opportunities. In conclusion, I would argue that ignoring practical skills for the sake of academic subjects and being successful in exams are totally inadequate on the grounds that these life hacks are more fruitful for their future lives in addition to giving them additional chances of recruitment.