These days, people are living into their 90s and beyond. As a result, there is an increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members of should the government be held responsible?

Nowadays, individuals are living into their 90’s and more. Consequently, there is rising concern about care for senior citizens. In my opinion, I believe that both family members and the government ought to take care of elderly members. One reason why family members should take care of elderly members is that blood is thicker than water. In other words, children know what to do when their parents are sick. Moreover, children will not be in the world without their parents. Thus, this is a way to repay what their parents have done for them. Another reason is that taking care of elderly members of a family is encouraged in almost every religion. Many people claim that when a child does not take care of his parents, he will face the same consequences in the future. On the other hand, it is significant for the government to take responsibility if elderly members of society do not have any families. Elderly members were once considered taxpayers, and they helped to build the nation via their tax contributions. Hence, if they have no family members, the government is accountable for giving them enough care by making residential homes with enough facilities to ensure they have a comfortable life. In addition, elderly people need daily follow up from doctors. However, some families do not have enough financial resources to ensure their aged parents get the best treatment. Therefore, the government undoubtedly plays a vital role in this aspect. To sum up, I believe that family members should give enough care to their aged parents or grandparents. Nevertheless, if elderly members live without other relatives, the government should take responsibility.