Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify three serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

The rise in population in developed cities has led to several problems nowadays. Firstly, the biggest problem faced in urban areas is heavy traffic followed by pollution and increased cost of living. However, these issues can be resolved by implementation of carefully planned strategies by the government and change in individual mindsets. A common problem that is being faced by all the urban towns is its traffic during peak hours, it takes forever to reach from point A to point B within the city. Increased traffic leads to more pollution which inturn has several environmental impacts such as global warming. Lastly, the cost of living increases with more number of outsiders as there is high demand for housing and other goods. In order to deal with the issues mentioned above, several steps can be taken by the government and individuals. To reduce the traffic on roads, governments can introduce highly efficient transportation systems like a metro which is powered by electricity connecting the major residential areas with the business hubs of the city. This will drastically reduce the time of travel for passengers, traffic and also the pollution. On a personal level, individuals must be encouraged to use more public transport than personal vehicles which will again reduce the traffic on roads. Lastly, the governments must develope more housing projects on the outskirts of the city connected with public transportation for the outsiders to make rentals more affordable. In conclusion, the problems arising from overpopulation can be carefully addressed with proper planning and impletation of strategies for the wellfare of the locals and the outsiders.