In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Nowadays, people’s tendency towards shopping has changed a lot compared to the past. A large group of individuals consider it a funny process, moreover, this is becoming the dominant idea these days. In previous times, buying was just a daily routine task and even boring in some cases. In this essay, I will explain both approaches and illustrate why the prior attitude is a better trend. To begin with, there are many beneficial outcomes for mankind with regard to extending their hobbies’ variations. Firstly, when humans consider shopping as a hobby, not only do they purchase what they need but also will enjoy and receive a sense of positive response from what they have done. For example, it has been proven by scientists that by considering retailing as entertainment, people with stress disorders could decrease their unpleasant feelings to some extent. Secondly, in the modern-day world with lots of challenges to make lives more comfortable and relaxed, shopping is an accessible and reliable way of a hobby for families to relieve themselves from their daily routine. On the other hand, in previous centuries, people used to divide their tasks in order to be able to handle their work. Hence, shopping like other duties, was just a part of daily routine and sometimes this obligation became frustrating and boring for many peoples. For example, because there were no shopping malls as we have these days, shopping was limited to purchasing some necessary goods only, which made it a repetitive process in all cases. In conclusion, compared to the past, shopping in this era is not considered a domestic boring obligation. On the contrary, it has changed completely in a positive way, since it has become a hobby and now people are enjoying it and are making more diversities in the way they have fun.