Some people think that the best way to run business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

Some hold the opinion that when a business is exclusively run by family members, the best results will be achieved. Family-run businesses have several merits, including a more cordial atmosphere in the working environment and the fact that, due to family relationships, more trustworthiness, loyalty, and dedication can be observed in employees. On the one hand, several advantages are associated with a business operated by family members. Firstly, due to family bonds and the sense of affection, intimacy, and closeness that usually exist among family members, family-run businesses often have a relaxing and convivial atmosphere in the workplace. Thus, this comparatively stress-free and genial working environment can enhance the employees ' productivity and efficiency, leading the business to thrive. Secondly, when a family runs a business together, they are more likely to dedicate themselves to work, using all of their capacities, skills, and abilities to operate the business as perfectly as possible. Moreover, it is undeniable that family members can be trusted more and show loyalty regarding business affairs, for example, by not revealing sensitive information or secrets of the business. On the other hand, several negative features are attributed to family businesses. Firstly, nepotistic behaviour and favouritism are more likely to be observed in businesses operated mainly by family members. In other words, non-family employees in these businesses may be treated unfairly, and perks and promotions may be given based on family relationships rather than competence and diligence. Secondly, family-run companies are more prone to some issues, such as the lack of adequate discipline in the workplace due to the informal working environment and intimacy between family members. Hence, when a business is managed by family members, they may not carry out the work earnestly and diligently as much as when they work in non-family businesses, leading to a decline in productivity and quality of work. In conclusion, family-run businesses have several positive features, such as having a more friendly and relaxing working environment and more loyal and devoted employees that can be trusted more due to family relationships. However, several downsides are also associated with these businesses, including the possibility of showing nepotistic behaviour towards family within the workplace and the lack of discipline and order in the relatively informal working environment of these businesses.