Some people think it is better for children to study in the city, while others think that education in the countryside is more suitable for them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Receiving, either a rural or urban education is a highly subjective discussion point based on an individuals viewpoint. However, from prior experience, it is more beneficial to learn in the city than the countryside due to opportunities and building key skills. It must be understood that the educational system is more developed in the city. This is due to large investment on infrastructure and teacher development. With this in mind, children have better access to modern facilities and teaching techniques, which in theory gives them a better quality of education. As a result, the opportunities are greater to further job prospects in the future, leading to an enhanced way of living. Thus, making city life a more attractive proposition. However, some people think that a child’s education is not all about academia but learning key skills such as, communication and creativity. There is belief that children being allowed to play in the open fields is the best way for these skills to be learnt, whilst also attending local schools for formal education. To a certain extent they are right, but these skills can also be learnt at schools through extra-curricular activities like art, music, and sport. From this writer’s experience, children are better prepared for later life by being educated in the city. This is since they are more exposed to the harsh realities of life, meaning they are better equipped to deal with the challenges this brings. A personal example is where one works with people educated in both rural and urban areas. The former struggles more with problem-solving skills, carrying out basic tasks, and communicating efficiently with work colleagues. Hence, the writer is swayed by city education. Clearly, this essay has shown that the main factors which impact upon education are future prospects and learning key skills. Therefore, urban education is more favourable than its rural alternative.