Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? Effects on society?

In recent years, students are most likely not to choose science subject as their major in many countries. Numerous negative effects have arisen as a result of this. This essay elaborates on the reasons contributing to this problem and the impacts of this phenomenon. To begin with, science is clearly a hard course to study both the theories and experiments. Besides, it is expected that students have persistence and a hardworking personality in order to pass this major which makes youngsters consider whether they should take it. Furthermore, since it will take a lot of time to study and experiment, students will have less time to do other activities to pursue their hobbies and make money as a part-timer. These factors might be the reasons why science is becoming unpopular nowadays. On the other hand, this trend will eventually cause several serious repercussions that need to be tackled. Science is like a well-oiled machine that keeps our lives going. As time goes by, science has to keep up with the environment and current health issues. For example, the COVID-19 vaccine is a brand new discovery since the virus appeared in 2020. If there were not enough scientists to do the research, people will keep suffering from it. Technology and medicine are proven to be scientifically vital in various aspects. In conclusion, several reasons account for the diminishing interest in science courses including high requirements and less time for another activity which is a starting point to lead to other issues. Consequently, it is significant to plan an approach to get young people to study science.