Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is an uncomfortable truth that many criminals commit more illegal acts after they are released from jail. There are several causes to this phenomenon such as lack of social support. This essay will discuss what I believe to be the reasons for this issue and suggest some solutions to mitigate this problem. To embark on, according to the Indonesian national report on crimes, more than half of offenders committed the second and more crimes after serving the first punishment. There are a few reasons for this, one of them is a lack of social support or social acceptance. When these offenders came back from jail and started their new lives in a community; they often find it hard to get a job because many employers refuse to hire them. As a result, they once again commit a robbery or shoplifting just to make ends meet. Another factor contributing to the high incidence of second crime among these ex-criminals is probably a lack of education and practical skills. most of these offenders do not have a degree, and they spent a huge amount of time in jail. Therefore, when they go out, there do not meet the criteria or lack of skills required for employment. However, there are a few steps that can be taken by the government as well as the community to reduce crime rates. First, there should be programs in jail facilities to provide inmates with practical skills or job training so that when they finished their time in jail; they were able to make money and continue their lives. In conclusion, many offenders commit more crimes after serving their time because the community could not accept them as a member of their society. However, the government could take a few steps to help these offenders function in society, so that they would not have the chance to do another crime.