Nowdays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

A growing number of people are adopting modern technology to socialize. However, this practice brings about a mix beg of both and bane. This essay will discuss two of the main driving forces behind this behaviour and the main reason why I believe it is mostly a negative trend. Firstly,It is reasonable to assume that one of the main driving forces behind the rise in online socializing is the advantage of social media in the last two decades. Digital natives have grown up being able to communicate with people from all over the world through direct messages,photos,voice chat and video. This has arguably shaped the way they internet and has shifted more of their social connections online. In addition to the influence of social myriad populations have had to deal with unprecedented situations such as the 2008 financial crisis or the more recent COVID-19 pandemic. While the 2008 financial crisis led to many young folks being unable to find work and spending extended periods of time at home. The covid 19 left much of the world's population effectively housebound for weeks and in some cases, months on end. This means that the public had to adopt socializing online. Although, there are many benefits to socializing online and it has proven to be highly advantageous in extreme situations. It is mostly a negative trend when it is overused in my opinion. For starters, cyberbullying is a major threat to the well-being of both children and adolescents. Cybercrime occurs on a regular basis on platforms namely Instagram and Facebook. In addition, the rate of suicide among teenagers is arguably on the rise as a result of this phenomenon. Along with that, the young population who interact virtually have fewer opportunities to practice their interpersonal skills. Users are increasingly texting one another on Facebook rather than communicating in person. This can lead to anti-social behaviour and depression. In conclusion, socializing online, If it is being overused can affect young folk's mental health as well as their quality of life. This is why I believe the virtual interpretation is mostly detrimental.