Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society,what kind of courses need to be taught in secondary school is always a hot topic.Some citizens think studying international news is necessary and should be considered as a subject, while others hold the view that it is a waste of precious time in school. This essay will discuss these two different viewpoints. Knowing what happens around the world every day can broaden students ' horizons.In school, students can only acquire knowledge from textbooks, but it is difficult for them to learn information outside taxtbooks. If courses can be offered for students to learn about international news, then students can learn about what big events have taken place in other countries. However, knowing this does not benefit our exam scores, especially in China. In China, only core subjects such as Chinese, maths, English and physics are the main subjects in the exam,and getting high scores is the primary target for secondary students. There are two main reasons why some individuals think studying international news in school is able to cause a waste of time. Firstly,focusing on global news may reduce students’energy and attention to learn corn subjects.For Chinese students,the only goal of studying is to get high marks and pass exams successfully. Besides,international news contains some negative information. This information may have a terrible impact on their education. These wrong news will not only make students waste numerous time, but also lead to a lot of wrong thoughts. In conclusion,I agree with those who think regarding international news as a subject is a waste of school time. Students should pay more attention to their main subjects which is the key to value the precious school time.