Nowadays, people have greater access to fast food. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Fast food has become part of our daily lives for many. It is convenient, affordable and delicious. However, there are some drawbacks if one consumes too much fast food. Modern lives are fast-paced, particular in the city. Meal preparation can often be time-consuming, hence, many prefers to dine out. Fast food becomes more appealing as it is served in a snap of a finger. Common restaurant’s kitchen requires time to prepare order, this makes eating at fast food chains all the more time effective. Moreover, fast food often priced competitively, making it an ideal low-budget meal. Study shows eating out at fast food chain can even be cheaper than cooking meal at home. Common fast food consists of burgers, fried chicken, french fries and soft drinks. No doubt these are high in calories and extremely low in nutritional value. Frequent consumption of fast food is proven detrimental to our health in the long run. For example, children who eat fast food often have a much higher chance of getting type 2 Diabetes. In addition, diseases mean expensive medical bills. For countries where government is funding for medical bills, this means burden to the government. A nation with unhealthy population also translates to overall lower productivity as people are unable to work. This could ultimately be a social issue that is challenging to resolve. In conclusion, there is always two sides of a coin. Fast food is easily accessible and cost effective but the prolonged consumption of it could be harmful to our health. In the long run, the disadvantages definitely outweigh the advantages.