Some people think that children should learn world history. Others believe that it is more important to learn the history of their own country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been argued that students should prioritise learning the world's well-known past history while some believe that is it more crucial to learn their own local history. Despite the importance to learn more about our own nation's history, I agree that it is important to also have knowledge about past events in the world. Some people believe that learning own country's history can give a better understanding of students' roots that shape local traditions and culture. Learning these kinds of subjects undoubtedly make children understand the origin of their own languages, old tradition and ancient practices. Neglecting those things may result in the country can loss of uniqueness and diversity for the country so schools can take a role to preserve this knowledge and pass it to other generations. Moreover, learning from the past can grow respect for our national warriors who fought for the country's independence in the past. The historical events should not be forgotten by our generation and we can take good examples from past events. While others believe that local history is more important, providing knowledge about world history may give an idea of how the global community functions and the political decisions had been made that have an impact on many countries currently. Learning about the world's important battles and well-known past events can give an idea of what going on in the past relationship in the world that affect international relations and laws. For example, the division between South Korea and North Korea is important to know as general knowledge to students. The knowledge will be beneficial when they travel to other countries and respect other nationalities' traditions and cultures. In conclusion, while I agree that the young generation has to know about their national history, I believe that school should teach their pupils about what happened in global history.