In many country women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Compared to the past, woman's workforce has now become a large part of organizations and economies. As a consequence, the question regarding maternity leave has been raised whether these working women should be allowed to take a leave on the first moment after giving birth or not. I strongly believe that this issue can be viewed from two different aspects and both can provide advantages and disadvantages equally. In terms of the advantages, these women will have time to adjust to themselves in their new lives as parents for a month. As taking care of children requires high responsibilities and energy, it would be suitable for them to focus on taking care of newborns and settling down with their new routines. However, they can not deny that leaving their jobs for a month might have caused them some backwards career development especially if their jobs are in a fast-paced industry. In contrast, if the mothers are not allowed to take leaves, apart from the cons regarding employment, they might have faced the problem of not having enough time for taking care of babies. With the higher amount of responsibilities required from both jobs and children, the mothers have to sacrifice all the time they have after work for the family. Even though this issue can be solved by, for example, hiring babysitters, there are several conditions such as expense budgets and reliability and trustworthiness of babysitters to be concerned of. For the aforementioned reasons, a month of maternity leaves has both pros and cons in the aspects of motherhood and employment. All things considered, maternity leave is a very personal issue. It is depended on the circumstances and condition of each mother. However, the most important thing is that the mothers should choose the choice that will be suitable for their lives the most as everyone has a different priority and value their responsibilities differently.