Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or diagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution are some of the most challenging issues to tackle. There is a group of opinion whereby higher petrol price is a feasible solution to these issues. In my opinion, this is not an ideal solution and other measures such as better public transport system, making car ownership expensive could be more effective. Firstly, I do not agree with increasing petrol price is the solution because people can easily switch to lower fuel consumption vehicle such as motorbike. However, motorbike is known to be more prone to accidents. Not only accidents can be life-threatening, they are also expensive because medical bills are funded by the government. Secondly, higher petrol price will lead to higher transportation cost and subsequently inflation. This translates to higher food price, clothes price, etc. Considering car is a necessity, it is uncertain if higher petrol price alone will reduce car usage but surely it will trigger inflation which can be tricky to resolve. However, it is not all gloom and doom. There are countries with significant lower car usage, they have lesser congestion and better air quality that’s worth referencing to. Hong Kong for example, is well-known for its seamless connectivity with public transport system. Switzerland on the other hand, their price of owning a car is extremely high hence many opt for public transport instead. In conclusion, raising petrol price alone is only solving one side of the issue and might trigger more challenges. To formulate this, policy makers ought to learn from other countries that succeeded in keeping their city free from traffic congestion and minimum pollution.