Scientists believe that by studying behavior of 3-year-old children, we can predict if that child can become criminals in the future. To what extent is crime a product of human nature? Is it possible to stop children from growing to be a criminal?

Many psychological researchers stated that three-year-old children's likelihood of becoming criminals in the future can be determined by analyzing their behaviours. This essay will discuss the main factors leading to individuals’ propensity to commit crimes and feasible solutions to deter young people from growing to participate in criminal activities.  I firmly believe that a person’s criminal tendency is largely formed through his or her external living environment. Studies showed that infants and toddlers imitate how their parents and other family members react to situations or interact with each other, which is safe to infer that there is a direct correlation between young children's behavioural patterns and their surrounding people. In detail, those who are raised in a dysfunctional household, experiencing parental neglect or domestic abuse, tend to develop aggressive manners and seek validation from dangerous societal groups because the childhood scars can easily trigger their psychological defence mechanisms. As an illustration, Jack the Ripper gained notoriety for being a brutal killer in England during the 1980s, he murdered women who were similar to his mother as a consequence of his severely damaged parental relationship due to a family breakdown. While early childhood experiences can be a predictor of future behaviour, it is possible to intervene and prevent children from becoming criminals if there is a strong collaboration between family and schools. Parents should not shirk an obligation as primary guardians and provide their sons or daughters with stable upbringings and a supportive familial environment as they play an important role in forming good characteristics in children’s early stage, which helps them differentiate between right and wrong.  Another  measure to address such a situation could be taken by schools by including mandatory crime lessons in learning curriculums. This teaching method involves stringent punishments, with a view to promoting the awareness of undesired consequences, which are able to cause the young to think twice and refrain from when engaging in illegal acts. In conclusion, criminal acts are the result of disadvantaged childhood, I believe that emphasis on the social environment is the real key to avoiding crime. By making a concerted effort between parents and schools, the prospect of criminalization at a young age could be prevented.