Online education is becoming increasingly popular. Many university students are choosing to study online instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance education outweigh disadvantages?

Internet has transformed our lives in many ways. Online education is one of the good examples. It comes with benefits of reducing travelling time, opportunities to do international courses. On the down side, students can feel isolated and it prevents them from bonding with other students meaningfully. In this essay we will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of online learning. The biggest convenience internet brings is the connectivity and saves time. When it comes to online learning, students can learn from home and this saves up a significant portion of time for travelling. This allows students to have more time and use on other productive tasks. Moreover, online learning opens the door of possibility for students to do courses that is conducted in other country without having to present physically. This is particularly helpful for working adults who continue learning about their profession which the course is often offered in other countries. With this the working adult can juggle their day job and learning concurrently. In terms of disadvantageous, without meeting each other face-to-face, students often feel they are on their own in this learning journey. They feel isolated and this can be detrimental to their learning motivation. In addition, it is extremely challenging for students to form meaningful bond. Being together means students can interact, conduct group discussions or have lunch together which allows them to understand each other better. This helps the students to form a better sense of camaraderie as well. In conclusion, there’s always two sides of a coin. In my opinion, the advantageous of online learning far outweighs its disadvantageous and it will only continue to be more common to do online learning.