Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. Despite knowing this, many people still prefer to eat those foods. Why this is the case? What could be done to encourage people to eat more home-cooked food?

Advancements in the field of food technology have led to the creation of many methods for the preservation of food. However, it has been observed that the majority of ready-to-eat meals and processed foods include a significant quantity of preservatives and chemicals. Though this approach has many advantages, I feel the disadvantages outweigh them. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the issue and explain why I believe in the latter. Indeed, there are some obvious advantages to putting these chemicals in food. The first is that it aids in the extension of a product’s shelf life. Owing to the fact that food has a limited shelf life and is therefore readily perishable, these compounds are added by the makers. In addition, preservatives are used in almost all processed foods to extend vitality and freshness to the product and protect from bacteria. Another benefit is that it improves the food ’s taste and flavour. These chemicals make food taste better, and as a result, businesses benefit handsomely. However, this trend has some significant disadvantages. One concern is that these substances have a long-term deteriorating effect on one’s health. This is because they can cause significant health problems such as heart disease, cancer and weaken the central nervous system. Another drawback is that these compounds are naturally addicting. This encourages people to eat certain foods frequently, increasing their risk of developing serious irreversible health problems. To sum up, adding preservatives to food can help extend its shelf life and improve the taste of a meal. However, consuming these foods for an extended period can have a devastating impact on the body, resulting in a variety of health concerns.