Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The increasing number of waste from statistical research has been shown a rising trend in the past several years. To tackle this issue, recycling is believed to be one of the solutions that can reduce the amount of waste from the household. A question is raised if legal action should be taken in order to control the rate of recycling or not. From where I stand, the government should reinforce the law regarding this issue to effectively reduce the amount of waste. We can not deny that regulation is the fundamental to managing and controlling the actions and behaviours of the citizens in each country. As a result, with the law, the number of people who recycles waste will be higher than compared to when there is no measure. To illustrate, Denmark, one of the most environmentally-conscious countries in the world, has several strict laws and rules regarding the environment. The recycling concept can be seen in every place in the country such as the recycling bottle machine in the supermarket. However, issuing the law might not be as easy as it appears since each country has its own conditions. For example, Thailand and Denmark, both countries have different structures of laws and infrastructures which make it more difficult for Thailand to have strict environmental laws compared to Denmark. Thus, issuing the law is not the most appropriate way to solve this problem, but it is the most reasonable way for the government to see the visible results. Therefore, some non-strict laws should be applied to adjust the behaviours of the people in that country. In conclusion, as the law will define most behaviours of the people, it should be used by the government to improve the number of recycling as it is the quickest and most effective way to see the results. In the beginning phase, the government should apply the rules that most people can follow before moving forward to a more environmentally-conscious country.