Many people argue that restaurants should be required to disclose the nutritional information of the dishes they serve. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that there has been a growing tendency of eating at restaurants, so according to some, it ought to be mandatory for restaurants to reveal the nutritional details of the served foods. Despite the fact that there are some drawbacks to mentioning the information about dishes made at restaurants, in my personal opinion, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, comprehension of information related to the nutrition of dishes prepared at restaurants by people, who eat there, has so many beneficial effects on their health. In other words, if people are informed of the calories and ingredients of their meals, they would be more conscious to order foods, which do not have heinous impacts on their well-being. They, consequently, opt to eat healthy dishes, which are without high cholesterol and unsaturated fat. If, for example, people have awareness of the amount of calories in fried fish, they would not order it. On the other hand, the pitfalls of putting details related to the ingredients of foods in restaurants ' menus should be considered. At present, restaurant owners most of the time offer music and a calm environment and thus people usually go there to spend some quality time with their friends or family and relieve their minds. They, consequently, do not want to be mentally preoccupated by the nutritional facts of their foodstuff and they just want to enjoy their meals. Taking Iran as an example, restaurants have been gaining popularity, especially among young generations, for socialising with their friends and the quality of meals is not important for them. In conclusion, weighing both sides of the argument I would say that the benefits of revealing nutritional facts of dishes at restaurants outweigh the drawbacks because of its productive effects on people's health.