Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years there has been a growth in the average age of people due to the advancement of healthcare sectors. While some think that this trend comes with various benefits, I firmly believe that there are several potential drawbacks for the community and government. To begin with, an increase in the average age of people brings numerous issues in society. Firstly, it leads to an overpopulation problem as the rate of birth increases while the rate of death decreases, generating more financial burden on the government as they need to allocate more budget to many sectors, especially on healthcare services for citizens. Moreover, the community will become an elderly society which brings various issues. For example, many elderly people are unable to work and earn an income because of their health. Consequently, they require subsidies from the government or support from their families, straining their finances. On the other hand, the elderly population offers various advantages to the community. Due to the wealth of wisdom and experience of elders, they are able to contribute to society by transferring their knowledge to society, as mentors or advisors. In some families, where parents are unable to take care of their children, grandparents can step in to provide care for their children, passing their culture and tradition through their role. In conclusion, although some people may think that living longer than before positively contributes to society and many families, I strongly believe that this trend will bring various downsides such as overpopulation and transition the society to elderly society which affects both the economic and society.