Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In this modern era, the number of science students is facing a wretched situation since most of them prefer to choose nonscience subjects in schools. This issue occurs because, commonly, science subjects are expensive and stressful, which clearly makes them avoid this field. As a result, the number of scientists will be diminished, and if this issue is not well tackled, it will cause an uplifting trend in the unemployment rate. To begin with, there are some activities needed to support the learning experience in the fields related to sciences since the basic fundamentals of those areas are evidence about particular theories. Therefore, practicum and surveys are generally done by students who study those subjects, which leads them to spend extra money to buy experiment materials like chemical solutions for chemistry subjects, for instance. As a result, this area of study seems to be expensive because, normally, those expenditures are excluded from annual tuition fees. Besides, calculating and certain experiments often lead the students into a stressful environment, which becomes a second reason why most of them prefer to choose nonscience subjects. In other words, they feel a profound pressure while studying in the mentioned area. Conversely, studying in a social major looks easier and more fun because counting and experimenting are minor skills in that field. If that issue is postponed to overcome, the number of scientists will experience a downward trend, and the unemployment rate will gradually increase, especially those who graduate in social sector majors. Most of the population in a particular country will only be ace in nonscience skills, and the vacancies in the social sector are going to be limited. As a result, the percentage of scientist people seems to be lost. To sum up the points discussed above, budget and mental health issues are the non-negligible reasons for students who prefer not to study science subjects, and it will lead to a decreasing trend in the number of science professionals and, at the same time, will increase the unemployment rate.