With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The traditional method of reading books is drastically shrinking while the electronic version of publications is becoming more popular. Buying a book in PDF form can be advantageous in terms of hassle-free purchasing and without any geographical limits but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. First, one benefit of using virtual books is that it is easily accessible and quick to buy. Nowadays, people can, not only purchase a book with a click, but they can also enjoy the global reach. Secondly, the environment becomes a major factor in choosing digital books over printed ones as it prevents deforestation which can lead to a positive impact on air pollution. Although most authors release their publication in both electronic and paper versions a few of them, considering environmental reasons, only sell in electronic format. Thirdly, e-book costs half or one-third of the paper book which turns into a most beneficial deal for the buyers. On the other hand, one problem when readers buy e-books is that it potentially exposes them to light and radiation through their gadgets. By doing this, people mistreat their eyes which can create some serious issues or diseases in their eyes. To illustrate, students using tablets and laptops for their studies or reading, are at high risk to harm their eyes than students who use paper-based handbooks. Another possible issue is that using gadgets makes it extremely difficult to concentrate for a longer duration. Because these modern technologies are connected to the internet users get continuous notifications and easy access to other distractions. In conclusion, while people can benefit from e-books, it can also lead to poor eye conditions and repetitive distractions.