These days, more and more people prefer to use shared transport such as buses, trams or carsharing applications on their smartphones rather than driving their own cars. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays people prefer shared transportation over driving their own vehicles. There has been a positive switch from using their own cars to travelling in buses, trams or car-sharing applications on their phones for their day-to-day commute. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this change. The first advantage of using Public transportation is the benefit it provides to the environment. When people share vehicles, then there is less concentration of transportation on the roads. This helps in reducing carbon emissions generated from traffic and improves air quality. Another advantage is at an individual level, the use of public transport is more economical for individuals. For instance, the average monthly expense of using a train for an office-going person would be 3000 Rupees, whereas covering the same distance every day by car might cost up to 10,000 Rupees, due to high petrol prices. Travelling by public transport also comes with various challenges. One should be careful about safety. Instances of theft and eve-teasing are common when travelling in a crowded train or a bus. Certain individuals try to take advantage of others when places are crowded and chances of getting caught are less. One should also prefer to travel via public transport during daylight hours, as it may provide certain individuals with an opportunity to commit crimes due to fewer people and law enforcement. To conclude, sharing vehicles has benefits for both individuals and society. However, one should be alert and careful while travelling in public. Therefore the benefits of travelling in public outweigh the disadvantages, if proper measures are taken by individuals and society to make it more secure.