The most important function of music is that it helps people reduce stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Music plays an essential role to release stress, I strongly agree with such opinions due to the various positive effects derived from listening to or playing music. First of all, music is being used in health care systems, in many regions, to release the nervous of petitions. The proponents believe that many people feel stress while staying in hospitals, which could derive negative effects on the efficiency of recovery, in this case, playing some soft music could distract people and help them to be calm. One of the experiences shows that under the same treatment after hip surgeries, those who stay in the room with soft music feel less stressed compared to others. Secondly, exciting music, such as rock and metal music, could assist individuals to reduce the pressure accumulated from their daily life, including the stress in work or the bills that need to be paid. From my perspective, music is one of the essential methods to output their negative emotions by yelling and dancing along with music. For instance, many young people who are under great pressure at school are in favour of listening to loud and noisy music to escape from reality, which could help them to release stress. To summarise, it is inevitable that one of the crucial functions of music is to assist individuals in dealing with their stress. While soft music could help those who experience uncomfortable due to illness to calm down and be positive, rock music could help young individuals to release negative emotions fostered by academic studies or derived from their peers.