In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this messages ?

In certain cultures, children are raised with the mindset that they can achieve any goal if they strive hard enough. Teaching the young to believe in themselves would help them have a confident and determined attitude. Yet, there might be better ideas to instill in the young's minds as they might experience disappointment in pursuing specific unachievable goals and lose their spirit. A confident youth has a strong presence, talks confidently, and confidently leads. Teaching children that they can become anything they want to helps them to believe in themself; therefore, they would dare to dream big and make efforts to pursue their dreams no matter the time and conditions. The famous Newton was stated as a handicapped one by his teacher when he was young because of his over-curious nature, his mother stood strong claiming him to be different, when the man got older, he has a strong determination when it comes to experience, he left the human an enormous amount of important inventions and even bigger the number of failure experiments. On the other hand, every born has a different ability, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it’s stupid, the mindset might backfire if the child experience failures in the course of pursuing a goal, these might significantly impact his or her view of the point as being lied to, and mostly what is instilled in a young one's head followed them their whole life, scientifically proven. Many serial killers after being caught state that their behaviours are stimulated by certain events and emotions, including the failures of certain goals. In conclusion, though children should be taught to have high self-esteem to ensure their presence in society, the message should mean to boost their confidence and determination, not to give them a negative fixed idea of achievement.