Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries. What are the causes of obesity in children? Discuss the possible alarming effects of this problem in the future.

It is clear that children have increasingly been obese in many parts of the world over the past few years. This essay will discuss the causes of obesity and suggests the possible consequences that may result in case of negligence. There are several reasons why more young people are becoming overweight in today's world. Firstly, children are susceptible to obesity because of poor diets. In fact, since most parents don't find sufficient time for cooking at home, children have to consume a great number of fast foods and processed ones, which are greatly contributing to the build-up of fat and compromising their fitness. Second, adolescents who don't exercise much are more likely to gain weight because they don't burn as many calories. Recent studies have indicated that young people in Australia spend more time on sedentary activities, such as watching television or playing video games, rather than on active ones. The rise in the number of overweight children can lead to many problems. Obesity could give rise to various health issues and diseases, which can be fatal. For instance, potential health issues for an obese child may include diabetes and respiratory disorders. In addition, obesity can have a major impact on how adolescents feel about themselves and how they interact with others. If children are overweight, they will be more likely to have low self-esteem, impairing other aspects of their lives, especially the development of friendships and competency at school. In short, the increasing number of overweight children is mainly caused by unhealthy diets and lifestyles. The effects of the trend are severe since obesity can have various negative effects on the health and mental wellness of children.