Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person’s level of experience and knowledge but also their personality. Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

Nowadays more and more companies are paying attention not only to some skills of a candidate but also to his qualities. Of course, leadership is definitely appreciated by a lot of employers. However, there are far more characteristics which are crucial for a worker to be hired. To begin with, every person was born with a specific temperament which could have some predispositions. Depending on behaviour scientists divide all humans into two categories which are extroverts and introverts. Extraverted people are more likely to become leaders due to the fact that they used to communicate a lot, therefore it is easier for them to get acquainted with new staff and share their opinion. However, introverted managers are known to be even more productive and organised, so their work I have always done perfectly. For instance, the book “The Power” shows a fascinating result in management reached by people who are more likely to be close to others. As a consequence, everyone has a predisposition to become a leader, therefore would-be managers should merely develop this innate skill. In addition, if a candidate has a number of good qualities, corporations are ready to teach him. It is known that trustworthiness, reliability and patience are highly appreciated by bosses these days due to the fact that these characteristics provide some information about a worker’s personality. For example, huge enterprises such as Google or Apple are more likely to choose a young person with a responsible approach to his duties rather than a candidate with great experience and no motivation. To conclude, leadership is an innate quality, but individuals are responsible for its development. However, many modern companies consider other characteristics to be equally important for becoming a professional.