Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, modern devices are being utilized to observe people’s daily lives at a higher rate than ever before. However, the vast majority of humans are unconscious of this matter. From my perspective, it is limpid that the downsides of this process prevail over the advantages. This essay will discuss both perspectives and argue in favor of the drawbacks. On the one hand, continuous surveillance will lead to a considerable fulfillment of humans needs, which are growing constantly. Moreover, if everyone would have on their social media feed only a stream of content based on the things they talked about and were interested in, the problem of time management in urban areas would decrease significantly. In that way, time spent browsing through the web will plummet. For example, it is generally agreed that internet buyers of various medicine or nutritive supplements must inform themselves about the diverse suppliers and producers they are purchasing from. Therefore, if such type of information will appear automatically on their media platforms because of sound tracking, acquiring will appear undemanding. On the other hand, media monitoring is detrimental for several reasons, one of them being lack of privacy. As per different studies, every social media platform collects personal data and sensitive information from user accounts. Private data may also be released unknowingly through tracking cookies, which record a user’s online activity, including webpage views, social media sharing and purchase history. Additionally, taking into consideration the amount of noise pollution metropolises are currently experiencing, it is no surprise search results might be flooded with irrelevant mentions as a consequence of failing voice trackers. For instance, if someone pronounces the word “Goose” in a conversation, the mobile microphone may misinterpret it. Subsequently, when you type the same word into the search engine, Google might redirect you to a clothing company named “Canada Goose”. To conclude, it is true to say that technology surveillance has its own unique benefits and disadvantages. While some people might be in favor of the progressive application of observance equipment, in my opinion, the detrimental effects are more pronounced.