Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this problem, and what measures can be taken to solve it?

Obesity has become a major problem across the countries. This problem not only occurs among adults but also among children which would affect their long-term health. This essay will examine what are the causes of this problem and provide possible solutions to solve this issue. In this modern era, brands are competing to get children ’s attention by using attractive packaging. For instance, brand like Oreo is collaborating with well-known cartoons namely Pikachu to capture children's attention. Consequently, as children are lured by the unique character, they keep consuming the product without minding their sugar intake. This condition is worsened by the fact that nowadays children are more appealed to play mobile games like Angry Birds and Mobile Legend rather than physical games, resulting in their calories that are not fully burned. If this problem is not immediately resolved, it will impact their future health and the countries will have an unproductive-obesity generation. There are many solutions to solve this problem, two of them are limiting their sugar intake and the second is encouraging more physical activities. The first solution requires parents’ help to always be aware of what kind of food their kids are consuming, they should be aware of the sugar contained in a product and limit the consumption to below what’s recommended. Second, is to limit their children ’s screen time and encourage them to play outside or in the playground. Therefore, it will burn calories and result in a lower chance of obesity. In conclusion, obesity in children that is caused by higher sugar intake and lower calories burned needs to be solved immediately. Parents should be aware of what their kids are consuming and limits to what is recommended while also supporting them to have more physical activities.