In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

The life expectancy of people around the world has significantly increased in recent years, resulting in a record number of old people. In Britain and in many other countries, when people start getting older and are unable to earn a living and take care of themselves, most of them take shelter in an old-age home. The government sponsors the care in some situations. In this essay, I will explain why, while families should do their part in caring for their parents, the government should be mostly responsible for sponsoring old-age care. First, individuals pay taxes to the government. During their productive years, people have to separate a certain percentage of their income, depending on their income range, to pay the government. In return, it is natural to assume the authority to take care of their people in the latter years of their lives. Health-related expenses, for example, regular checkups, medications, and operations, should be free of charge for people after a certain age; the cost should be borne by the government. Furthermore, caring for old people requires skilled manpower, such as healthcare workers and caretakers, that only the government can manage. A government possesses the capacity to recruit skilled workers who are specialized in age- care services. Building and operating the required infrastructure and employing the necessary manpower could cost several million, which is hard to manage at an individual level. So the government should take responsibility for this. In conclusion, senior citizens living in nursing homes are common these days in Britain and other parts of the world. Even though I think families should take care of their loved ones once they get older, when it comes to the expenditure related to old age care, I firmly believe that the government should take full responsibility. Since the government is run by the taxes paid by those people during their productive years, they expect the government to take care of them during the last couple of decades or years of their lives.