In today’s job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. To what extant do you agree or disagree?

The older generation believed that if they wanted to get a good job someday, academic qualifications such as a diploma or certificate of graduation from college or university were highly demanded. For over 100 years, the prejudice has been spreading across the world. However, I agree with the statement that having practical skills is more important than theoretical knowledge these days. In this modern world, it is still difficult to get a job for applicants, even though they already have an academic qualification. Why? From my perspective, two reasons are there. Firstly, due to the unbalance of supply and demand getting a job is getting harder. The more people who have the same qualifications are there, the harder to get a job because they have to compete with the same conditions. In this case, if one of them would have practical skills additionally, examiners would choose that person. Secondly, there are some differences between academic knowledge and practical knowledge. For instance, you cannot manage people very well with just academic skills. You need to meet people in person to recognize each character and tendency. Moreover, according to Forbes interview, some CEOs of leading companies such as Amazon or Tesla tend to prioritize practical experiences like starting their own companies or overcoming significant challenges in their own lives over merely just requiring academic qualifications for hiring staff. Because they know well how important practical skills are these days. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I personally believe that having practical skills is becoming more important in the near future.