The best way to resolve the international environment problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that raising the fuel price is an optimal way to tackle global environmental issues. While it can be an effective measure to fight global warming, I do believe that there are also other ways to alleviate environmental problems internationally. On the one hand, raising taxes on petrol helps the government ensure that people might use cars less than before, and fewer car journeys could lead to a reduction in exhaust fumes released into the atmosphere. Consequently, this scheme could slow the process of global warming as the quantity of greenhouse gases declines. Besides, it is apparent that supplies of oil will not last forever, so the rise in the price of fuel might be a useful method to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels. On the other hand, I believe there are more effective solutions to mitigate international environmental issues. Firstly, it is necessary for governments to introduce restrictions on car use as the combustion of engine fuel emits a large amount of toxic fumes into the environment. For instance, since the national authority in London introduced congestion charges, the overall air quality in this city has improved substantially. On top of that, resources should be allocated to the development of vehicles powered by renewable energy such as electric cars, because this kind of transport is environmentally friendly. Last but not least, governments should pay more attention to heavy industries and impose heavy fines on factories that dispose of industrial waste irresponsibly. As a result, these factories are forced to install waste treatment systems instead of discharging chemical waste into rivers, and this policy thus eases the burden of water pollution.