Parents should encourage their children to spend less time on studying and more time on physical activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hold that parents should encourage their children to spend more time exercising rather than studying. This essay agrees with the opinion because it could lessen the pressure on young individuals and benefit their health. It is well acknowledged in Asian society that the major task of a student is to enter a school with a high reputation, which secures a better career path. However, the expectation which parents cast on their children turns out to be a heavy burden and risk young people’s mental and physical health. In order to attain high scores in the entrance exam to higher-level educational institutions, students endure peer pressure and sacrifice their leisure time to meet their parents’ demands. As a result, stressed pupils without healthy lifestyles are prone to health problems like obesity, which could be solved by regular exercise. Conducting exercises is believed to have numerous advantages. It is reported that sports could boost students’ academic performance by enhancing memory and improving attention. In addition, physical activities are an efficient way to release stress, indicating that it has a positive influence on studying. Furthermore, cultivating a habit of regular exercise at an early age helps lower the risk of chronic diseases in middle age. Thus, it is beneficial for students to participate in physical activities instead of sitting at a desk all the time. In conclusion, parents should support their children to do exercises prior to school workloads. Only when young individuals are free of pressure and in a healthy status, they could find their interested fields of study and have the motivation to pursue a prospective future.