Some people believe teenagers should focus on all subjects equally, whereas other people think that they should concentrate on only those subjects that they find interesting and they are best at. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that teenagers should have a balanced approach towards all subjects, while others are of the opinion that they should make decisions depending on their interests and abilities. This essay will analyse both viewpoints before concluding that I lean towards the latter. Admittedly, there are compelling reasons for the belief that a wide range of subjects should be equally focused by students. Proponents of this may argue that learning all subjects will inexorably equip teenagers with a well-rounded knowledge. Geography, for example, not only does it require students to memorise theories, but also demands practical skills, such as using maps and data analysis. Thus, this fundamental knowledge will help them in approaching further topics, such as geo-political Politics. However, it is vital to recognise that acquiring all subjects could make it arduous for students to discern their strengths and select an appropriate major for university. This spells trouble for an imbalance among various academic curriculums nationwide, leading to an insufficiency in the labour market for some particular industries or graduates working in unrelated fields to their studies. Considering the aforementioned arguments, I align with those advocating for prioritising subjects that they excel at and enjoy. Studying subjects that they master could bring about higher performance and grades throughout their learning journeys due to a high level of engagement in certain subjects. Consequently, teenagers could decide their pursuit of disciplines in university at an early stage, optimising their learning experience with either specialised theory or practical skills. Furthermore, specialised learning will provide them with essential and appropriate skills for their careers to adapt quickly to the working environment, compared to generalised students, who might take it longer. Additionally, some are born with an innate aptitude for music or art. This means that they should be taught using instruments or paintings, rather than focusing on subjects such as Physics or Biology, which appeared to be less appealing to them and could be a waste of time on an inefficient learning process. The distribution of different specialising in studying will therefore be conducive to diversity in the job market, as well as reducing the chances of doing inappropriate work in the future. In conclusion, although broadening knowledge by studying an array of subjects is essential for young people, I am more convinced that the long-term benefits of specialising in studies on both individual and national scales are more justifiable.