Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. It is true that an increasing number of people who have health issues are giving different medications and treatments from a new doctor a try, rather than seeing the doctors that they visit regularly. While there are some benefits to trying different methods of treatment with another doctor, I think it is the best option to continue seeing the doctor that the patient usually pays visits to. On the one hand, I consider that there are two benefits to visiting a new doctor for medical treatments. Firstly, the new medication or treatment the new doctor prescribes may be more effective in curing the patient's illness. For example, my previous doctor prescribed a insufficient dose of diabetic medication. I asked him to rise the dose but he refused, thus, I looked for a new doctor who is better at diabetes treatment to have a more efficient treatment plan. Secondly, a new doctor may bring in a new perspective on treating the disease. To be more specific, though doctors receive almost the same education and knowledge, some doctors have more clinical experiences that may help with the patient's symptoms. However, there are also a few drawbacks to seeing another physician, I will discuss one here. It is possible that the new doctor might not know the person's medical history or medical condition to make the right treatment. For example, I heard news in China, there was a person, who knew nothing about his own disease and went to a different doctor. For some reason they couldn't find his medical record, deciding to ignore it and prescribed a medicine that he was allergic to, causing the patient's death. For this factor, I think it is not good to visit a new doctor without any preparation. In conclusion, it may be worth a try to try new methods that may cure the disease, however, for the reasons mentioned above, I think it is a negative development.