5.Some people say that schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet and they can study just as well as home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the digital era, some comment that, children still can get a good education thanks to the knowledge available online. Therefore, they no longer need to commute to school. Personally, I disagree with this opinion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the invention of the Internet has revolutionized many aspects of human beings, and one of the most significant aspects is education. With a range amount of knowledge available in cyberspace, students can get any information they need for their education. As a result, the Internet can be seen as an effective tool that supports young people significantly in their studying. On the other hand, I believe that the use of online networks in education can bring certain drawbacks to children. Firstly, as open data storage, every piece of information can be posted on the Internet without any restriction or strict verification. Hence, it is very difficult for teenagers to acknowledge if the document is correct or reliable, leading to misunderstandings and confusion. Secondly, with the booming of the Internet and advanced digital devices, several books and movies with violent content are available on social media, arousing human curiosity, especially among adolescents, stimulating them to imitate illegal activities. This in turn can lead to an increase in the crime rate. Lastly, it has been observed that children who spend more time studying online may lack face-to-face interactions with others. This is because they do not have many chances to participate in social clubs or sports teams which are usually organized at school. These activities not only improve learners’ health but also provide them with the necessary social skill, such as communication skills and teamwork, which are useful for their future careers. In conclusion, with a huge amount of knowledge available online, the Internet can be a useful source of reference and students can use it as an aid for their education. However, schools still play an important role in children’s studying and this role cannot be replaced.