Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Without a shadow of a doubt, making decisions has widespread effects on future lifestyles. A group of people put this idea forward that children can choose everything they need but these choices lead to them becoming selfish, while some others disagree saying adolescents must choose matters such as nutrition, clothes, and recreation that can impact them. Both schools of thought, due to the prominent values they carry, are apt to be taken into account. Regarding the first case, it is believed that allowing children to make their own decision can lead to self-drive children who don’t care about their parent’s permission. If parents let them be on their own, they would never listen to their parent’s orders again and it can cause some serious problems for them. For example, children possibly choosing junk foods can lead to dangerous health issues. Consequently, this action would result in future health diseases. With respect to the second viewpoint, allowing children to make their own decisions has several advantages. One of them is that they can learn to recognize both the positive and negative consequences of their decisions. For instance, a child who learns to choose their clothes may become familiar with the best clothing brands. As a result, they can make better purchases in the future. Ultimately, they will be able to choose the best action in challenging situations and steer their lives in the right direction. In conclusion, despite some opposition to not limiting children from making their own decisions, I strongly believe that there are valuable lessons in allowing juveniles to make their own decisions, such as learning how to develop good strategies in difficult situations.