Many people believes that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social networking sites, like Facebook and, Instagram are believed by many people to have detrimental effects on the personal and social development of an individual as well as the overall society. Even though these networking sites have been developed to connect the world, however I agree that individual especially the younger generation, is getting addicted to social media which is causing numerous social, physical, and mental health issues. Firstly, no doubt that social media has provided numerous benefits to the person and communities at various levels. It helps in bringing communities together globally, for example, a person can connect to his/her family, friends and other like-minded individuals living miles apart, which would not be possible without social networking. Additionally, it generates new career opportunities thus creating income resources for youth, as they are getting paid by these organisations for creating a variety of content. On the other hand, the deleterious effects of digital media cannot be ignored. The kids are overspending their time on these virtual websites, thus feeling disconnected from the real world, therefore becoming socially awkward and misfits in the community. Moreover, this separation from relatives around them leads towards increase incidents of mental depression in youngsters. For instance, nowadays teenagers' happiness depends upon likes and dislikes on their posts rather than the respect and love from their folks. Furthermore, kids glued to the computer and mobile screen become inactive, instead of spending time outdoors they sit confined to their rooms which causes delays in their physical growth and damage to their eyesight. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that digital networking has changed the way of interaction and communication drastically. But the equilibrium must be maintained in the real and virtual world, extreme dependence on these websites is producing a population with social anxiety issues.