Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Plastic is used extensively because it is cheap and convenient, but it has severe environmental impacts since is not biodegradable, these synthetic plastic products create problems for wildlife and their habitats as well as for human populations. Therefore, the use of this material should be stopped immediately. In this essay, I will outline the harm plastic causes to the environment and explore what could be done to stop these persistent polluters. The majority of consumers have daily contact with all kinds of plastic materials that have been developed specifically to defeat the natural decay process, as plastic litter is improperly disposed it can cause much damage to the animals. For instance, a Condor was found with plastic in their stomachs a few years ago in California also marine animals can be killed through ingestion of these polluters. Plastic also pollutes without being littered, specifically through the release of compounds used in its manufacture, polluting the air and water through the chemicals which affect human and planet health. To solve the problems caused by plastics, authorities and individuals need to take immediate action. First, governments, all around the world, can impose strict environmental laws, such as banning the use of plastic bags and promoting the use of biodegradable and renewable resources without delay. Additionally, the general public can also make a difference by reducing their use of plastic bags, bottles, and packaging which will have a huge positive impact in curbing the detrimental effects of plastics. They can do this by using reusable bags made of jute or clothes, glass bottles and containers, and by choosing to use products that have almost no packaging requirements. In conclusion, without a doubt, plastic is bad for the environment as it causes significant damage to our mother planet. We need to act now to stop the spread of plastic towards making a world free of plastic contamination and help the planet, especially the ocean, retain its biodiversity.