Using smartphone is harmful for the eye. How far do you agree ?

Beyond doubt, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether smartphone is harmful for eyes or not. According to my prespective, excessive amounts of everything is harmful same is the case for mobile phone. My position is argued further. To begin with, nowadays cellphones has became necessity but more than that it has became a habit due to containing excessive amounts of engaging activities like internet, social media, video games just to name a few. People especially younger generation spend a lot of time watching and scrolling the screen. This results in their less focussing power and a change in focal length of eye lens. It is evident in various studies that majority of youth is facing near -sightedness problem in recent times. Moreover, mobiles are much nearer to eyes while being used in comparison to watching a television. The harmful radiations affects negatively causing our retina to shrink. To add on, there are myriads of extreme cases in which masses of people completely lost their vision or got cataract. To conclude, I opine that although there are a numerous other reasons which are harmful for eyes, smartphones are the topmost as they has to be operated through a very small distance from eyes as well as they are used more often than other technological devices like laptop, television and computers.