The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In 1888, the first vehicle was driven on British streets. In 2000, there were about 29 million automobile in those roads. In order to control the usage and property of this means of transport, some people claim that alternative ways to commute should be promoted and international laws enacted. This essay aims to explain why I completely agree with this idea. The primary reason I have to support this statement is that it is being difficult to control the number of cars on British roads with the existing legal frame. Despite the fact that some measures have been taken to reduce the amount of traffic, particularly during rush hours, those have been insufficient to tackle this issue. To exemplify this, think about the tolls that have been built in some avenues to persuade people to avoid using their vehicles during certain hours; many of them do not care about those tolls because if they need to drive somewhere, they are willing to pay extra to do it. Furthermore, having an excessive total of vehicles on the roads produces a dramatic amount of air pollution, unless electric cars are used. It is clear that the vast majority of cars in Britain are not of this type, consequently, the pollutants generated by them are big and worrisome. To ameliorate this panorama, I firmly believe that the government must enact some provisions aiming to control the number of cars that each person is allowed to own and its usage since it will significantly diminish the number of vehicles on the roads. Moreover, the promotion of other forms of transport, such as bicycles and electric trains, should be internationally promoted, because they are eco-friendly. If this last measure is taken in many countries, its impact in the World’s environment will be profound. To conclude, I think that the British government has to regulate the usage and number of cars that people can have in the country and promote other means of transport that are more sustainable, to control the repercussions that vehicles are currently having in Britain. The latter measure would be better if it is agreed with other countries, to reproduce its benefits in a bigger scale.