Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for goverments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there is a tendency for elderly people to live longer than they were in the past. While some people claim this situation is beneficial, I contend that an ageing population is detrimental to both the kids of older people and the governors for several reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, it is undeniable that possessing an ageing population is advantageous to a certain extent. Elderly people are considered the emotional support for their children. It is beyond doubt that each individual's desire is to witness their parents live longer and in happiness. Moreover, older people can assist their children in several ways. For example, adults who maintain full-time jobs can have their kids looked after reliably by grandparents. In this case, they also mitigate the cost paid for children's services in nurseries or babysitters. On the other hand, I claim that such an ascending population of older people does the society a disservice. The primary problem addressed is the financial burden put on both their children and the government. In light of their ages, old people are no longer able to work and earn a living by themselves, thus reliant on their offspring's support. This phenomenon is undoubtedly disadvantageous to their children, particularly those who pursue decent incomes. Furthermore, elderly people nowadays receive a considerable amount of welfare from the authorities. Due to the increasing number of older people and the limited national budget, the governors have no choice but to invest less in other crucial fields such as education and technology, leading to an imbalance as regards national development. The significant number of ageing people in need of support from the states also begets the increase in taxation schemes, which require the help from their children and other individuals. In conclusion, although old people can support their offspring emotionally and practically, the longevity of old people means the appearance of myriad issues.