Research has shown that consumerism is a major problem of the young generation due to the effect of the media. why and what are the consequences?

When buying a product, most people would weigh up needs vs wants. However, despite the inconvenience of advertising, it is something that people cannot avoid, especially youngsters who are mostly dependent on technology. This essay will describe why youngsters are easy targets in the business industry, and what impacts they will get. Firstly, on the one hand, it is impossible to live without technology as they need it for social and learning. Not only do they use it for their education, but also for social. However, this dependency can be an opportunity for the business to promote its products. For instance, as they will most likely be interacting on social media, the brands and items will be promoted through this. Furthermore, constant exposure to these promotions can influence their purchasing decisions and preferences, leading to a desire for specific products or trends. Consequently, following a trend and constantly seeing images of other people can create some downfalls. For example, the business can engage its market by ensuring that its item is desirable to many viewers, leading to feelings of trying to conform, which in the long term can impact their self-worth and well-being. And such activities can result in inadequacy and envy, which can be problematic for the young generation. The more exposure that they get, the worse their mental health might become. To conclude, today's digital world has made it impossible to live without technology, especially for teens. This can be seen as an opportunity for brands to promote their items. Nonetheless, it can affect the young public's mental health and self-worth.